Speechless

Wow. I’m horrified at this newest news article that has come out about homosexuality being taught in elementary schools. Why in the world we need to be teaching 5 year olds about gender issues is beyond me. Children are so easily confused by so many things at that age; throwing homosexuality at them is incomprehensible to me. Most of these kids aren’t going to face their own sexuality for several more years. Why not present information to them at that time? Why teach our kindergarteners about it? I would be horrified if my child came home from kindergarten one day and said they had learned about sex in school that day. Why are they teaching about sexuality of ANY type? And why are they ONLY teaching about homosexuality? Why not teach heterosexuality also, if you’re going to get into the issue?

So parents of children at this public – yes, public – school in Sacramento find out that their 5 year old children are being taught to be pro-gay. They are having a “Coming out day” tomorrow. Parents were not told, the event wasn’t listed on online calendars, and the event is being held almost two weeks after the traditional “Coming out day” that is observed in high schools. Sure sounds like SOMEONE is trying to sneak something into the curriculum to me.

And before anyone jumps on my case, I will state my opinion that there is a big difference between teaching children to be tolerant of gays and teaching them to be pro-gay. In my view, being tolerant in this case simply means accepting that someone chooses a different lifestyle than the majority. Being pro-gay is actively promoting a gay lifestyle, and teaching our children that it is just as good as a heterosexual lifestyle. Studies have shown that gay relationships are less stable; homosexual practices account for more new instances of STDs; homosexual people engage in sex with more partners, thus furthering the spread of diseases and leading to unstable personal relationships; and homosexual relationships even have a stronger tendency toward violent behavior than heterosexual ones. Does that sound just as good to you? It doesn’t to me.

Vote YES on Proposition 8! Please, remember, the failure of Proposition 8 will have dire consequences for our children.

3 Comments

  1. France DENIED same-sex marriage!
    Your blog is great and I feel like asking no on 8’s:
    Hey! Got Research? Bashing, accusations, emotions are running high in this election about Prop. 8 but I’m not seeing people talk about the hard-core research. There is no hate in facts. They just are. And they are in support of yes on Prop. 8…

    The country of France did their homework. They read the research and decided to put children’s needs first because kids thrive more in a heterosexual marriage. Don’t believe me? Read the research yourself:
    http://www.journeychristianministries.org/CPA-SSA-marriage.pdf

    Thanks! http://www.abbyearth.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks for the heads up Abby! I love when people actually look at all the studies that have been done and realize that science also supports a traditional family.

  3. And before anyone jumps on my case, I will state my opinion that there is a big difference between teaching children to be tolerant of gays and teaching them to be pro-gay. In my view, being tolerant in this case simply means accepting that someone chooses a different lifestyle than the majority. Being pro-gay is actively promoting a gay lifestyle, and teaching our children that it is just as good as a heterosexual lifestyle.

    Bethany, this is a great comment here. Similar thoughts were just starting to foment in my own mind, and when you articulated them, I realized, that was what had been bothering me. Thanks. I might need to go write about that now.


Comments are closed.

